IllBliss Is “The Ill-Bo Phenomenom – The Journey Of Igbo Artistes to Mainstream” As He Covers MyStreetz Magazine[Posted by Promosouth]

MyStreetz-Cover-Promosouth‘The Nigerian state has always been a potpourri of different tribes and cultures which also reflects in its music that comes in diverse languages and sound but as diverse as things are, the general perception is that you are either an artiste who’s Yoruba (the west), Igbo (South, East or South-south…) or Hausa from the northern region. No matter how easy it is to be argued, this ideology is still the bedrock for the presidential seat in Nigeria.
The Nigerian music industry have a record of several great Igbo Highlife musicians but a lot of them could not break into mainstream. The musical exploits of Oliver De Coque, Sir Warrior, Oriental Brothers, Okonkwo Adigwe, Zeal Onyia, E.C Arinze, Chief Stephen Osita Osadebe, Bright Chimezie, Cardinal Rex Jim Lawson e.t.c are huge but despite this, all of them only recorded regional success with the exception of Victor Uwaifo with his Joromi hit song and Nico Mbarga with Sweet Mother. They could not conquer the language barrier and by so doing, could not have a share in the Lagos music market which is the major market to go mainstream. The fact that most of these artistes are based in the eastern part of Nigeria, also halted their appeal to the mainstream audience.
The struggle to mainstream for the Igbo artistes continued with the Pop generation. The likes of Mike Okri, Felix Liberty and Chris Okotie attracted more audience but they shied away from associating their music with their language. The Reggae generation of the Mandators, Majek Fashek, Ras Kimono, Peterside Otong also made further inroad by infusing pidgin English but none could solidify their mainstream status until the Hiphop generation came along. They were the arrogant generation that understood all the mechanism to break into mainstream. They relocated to Lagos, infused all the modern day sound and also bought into the managerial and packaging principle of today’s industry but most importantly, they made sure they infused more of their native language/rhythm into their music until the Nigerian music market could no longer do without them. This is the exploit of the likes of Illbliss, Big Lo, 2Shotz, Phyno, Mr Raw and Flavour; this is the journey of the Igbo artistes. This is the ILL-BO PHENOMENON’.
In the words of Sesan Adeniji, publisher of Mystreetz magazine
Cover photography by August Udoh!


Full Winners List At The 2014 AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards[Posted By Jed Ps]

The 2014 AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards
(AMVCAs) held  at Eko Hotel and Suites at
Victoria Island, Lagos on Saturday.
The red carpet was hosted by Eku Edewor and Denrele
Performers: Award-winning Nigerian musical Kakadu,
pianist and musician extraordinaire Cobhams, highlife
artiste Flavour and Waje.
Find the winners list below:
-Best Movie of 2013 goes to The Contract
-Best Actress in a Drama Award goes to Tope Tedela for
A Mile From Home
-Best Actress in a Drama Award goes to Nse Ikpe-Etim
for Journey To Self
– Industry Merit Award goes to Peter Edochie
wpid-AMVCA-2014-PromosouthBest Movie Drama goes to Frank Rajah Arase for The
-Best actor in a comedy award goes to Elvis Chucks
-New era award goes to Rita Dominic for The Meeting
-Trailblazer ward goes to: Michelle Bello
-Best supporting actor in a Drama goes to Desmond
Elliot for Finding Mercy
-Best supporting actress in a Drama goes to Bikiya
Graham-Douglas for Flower Girl
-Best Director goes to Shirley Frimpong-Manso –
-Best Actor in a Comedy goes to: Osita Iheme – The
-Best Online Video goes to: Amarachukwu Onoh –
Mother Tongue
-Best Short Film award goes to: Walter ‘Waltbanger’
Taylaur – The Wages
Best Documentary award goes to: Dr Gilbert Chigbo –
The Deadwood
-Best Indigenous Language (Hausa): Abba Muko
-Best indigenous language Yoruba award goes to:
Mercy Aigbe
-Best indigenous language Swahili award goes to: Njoki
Muhoho – Mama Duka
-Best Television Series (Comedy/Drama) award goes to:
Fred Phiri – Love Games Episode 6
-Best video editor goes to: Shirley Frimpong-Manso –
-Best sound editor goes to: Obi Emelonye and Luke
Corradine – Last Flight to Abuja
-Best Cinematographer goes to: Christian Almesberger
– Nairobi Half Life
-Best Writer in a Comedy award goes to: Jigi Bello –
Flower Girl
-Best Lighting Designer goes to: Mohamed Zain –
Nairobi Half Life
-Best Writer in a Drama goes to: Shirley Frimpong-
Manso & Hertey Owusu – Contract
-Best Make-Up Artiste Award goes to: Elayne Okaya –
Nairobi Half Life
-Best Costume Designer award goes to: Chiemela
Nwagboso – The Kingdom
-Best Art Director award goes to: Barbara Minishi –
Nairobi Half Life…

Omotola, Genevieve, Tonto And Majid Michel’s Look At The AMVCA Pre-Award Party [Photos[Posted By Jed Ps]

amvca2-PromosouthThe Africa Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards Pre-Awards party held last night at the conference centre of Eko Hotel & Suites, Lagos. Present to grace the occassion were several A-List actors and actresses from the continent. The awards proper would hold tonight and we will be bringing you exclusive photos much later tonight. Keep watching Promosouth closely…..amvca4-Promosouthamvca3-Promosouth